Evaluation: What went well & improvements/changes

During the development of my project I ended up making some changes to the original proposal of my project – this is because as I experimented with some of the original ideas I realized some other ways that I could get the best out of my project.

One of the things that I decided to change was the proposal for the banner that I would design. My original proposal stated that the advertising banner that I would create was going to be placed on the website to advertise a new product range or part of the website – the banner was originally going to be digital and not a physical product. However, when I started designing the website and the banner at around the same time I realized that having the digital banner was not really necessary within my project. I really wanted to design the banner as part of my project so I made the call to make this a physical banner rather than a digital one because this would have more real practicality over the digital one and I think that I made the right decision. In my original proposal, I stated that I was going to use the colour dark green, dark grey and a set of specific fonts throughout because these are colours that I thought would work really well when placed on the website and the leaflet together, however, once I started the design for the leaflet I immediately realized that these colours did in fact work well together, however, they definitely were not practical for the project that I was creating as they looked too modern and bold for my style – I needed to use softer & lighter colours for my project; I quickly changed these colours to the turquoise and white colours that I am using now and I definitely think that this was the right decision for me to make. I think that both of these changes were definitely necessary and I am glad that I decided to make them – after I made both of these changes I updated my proposal so that all of my work was up to date and accurate.

I believe that the whole of my project is effective at what it is trying to do but there is certainly some parts that are more effective than others. For example, I believe that my analysis of existing products was the most effective part of my project because it helped me a lot more than I ever thought that it would; this analysis allowed me to gather some inspiration from existing products and made the whole designing process for my own products a lot easier than it would have been without it – it allowed me to see what aspects of design worked better than others and it allowed me to experiment with certain designs that I had never thought of experimenting with before. Another part of my project that I found to be successful was the website experimentation section – this is because I had never really touched on website design until this section of the project and I was eager to get started. During this process, I learnt so many new skills and tried out a new piece of software, Adobe Muse, to create my website rather than Adobe Photoshop and I do not regret this at all. I learnt so many new website design skills throughout this section of the project and these will definitely help me with later projects and definitely later in life.

Leave a comment